Outstanding Mentor Award

Just about every lawyer has a mentor who guided his or her career.  In an effort to recognize the efforts of a special municipal law mentor, the TCAA Board of Directors recently created the TCAA “Outstanding Mentor Award.”   The award is intended to recognize and honor a municipal attorney for his or her significant and distinguished mentoring achievements related to young attorneys and their practice in the field of municipal law.

The nominee must have demonstrated the qualities of a mentor to one or more young municipal attorneys by, for example: (1) serving as a role model to young municipal lawyers in his or her community; (2) fostering the development of young municipal lawyers; and (3) significantly contributing to the profession and/or the community.

The recipient of this award will be honored at the TCAA Summer Conference. In addition, TCAA will waive the recipients’ seminar registration fee and provide the recipient with three nights’ lodging for the meeting. The deadline to apply to receive the award at the 2020 Summer Conference on June 17-19, 2020 is April 17, 2020. For downloadable criteria and an application form, click here.


Gary Smith, Richmond

David La Brec, Clark Hill Strasburger (Retired)
Trish Nasworthy, Grand Prairie
Ignacio Ramirez, Baytown

Marcus Norris, Underwood Law Firm, P.C.

Diane Wetherbee, Plano (Retired)
Jay Doegey, Arlington (Retired)

No nominations received

Harvey Cargill, College Station (Retired)
Patrick Bernal, Denton, Navarro, Rocha, Bernal, Hyde & Zech, P.C.

All Rights reserved 2018